The National Defense University (formerly the Tri-service University) is the highest institution for advanced military education in our Armed Forces. Its predecessor was the Army School in the former Qing Dynasty, and was renamed as Army University in the early years of the Republic of China. On May 19, 1969, the former President instructed that “the Tri-service University integrate the proposals of the Command and staff University in each service for the whole merged and unified system.” On September 6 of the same year, the Ministry of National Defense (MND) approved that “the Tri-Service Joint University becomes the War College, the Command and Staff University in each service renames as the Command and Staff College, and original institutions integrate into one University, which is Tri-service University, with 4 colleges at Dazhi Campus in Taipei. And it was officially established on December 1 of the same year. On May 8, 2000, the War College was reorganized into the Department of Strategic Studies based on the consideration of the development of the Armed Forces and future war trends and by the order of MND. On June 30, 1997, in response to the Ministry of National Defense's "Boai Project" lean policy, the Department of Strategic Studies temporarily moved to the "Wuhan Barrack" in Longtan, Taoyuan, along with the Tri-service University. In order to adapt to the characteristics of modern warfare, it emphasized strategic and joint operations education courses. On November 1, 2006, it was reorganized into the "War College" of the National Defense University with the approval of the MND (The Order: Lu Hua Zi No. 0950001200, 10312006). In July 2007, it was moved from the Wuhan Barrack at Longtan, Taoyuan to Bade Campus in Taoyuan so far.


UpdateDate:2024/5/27 上午 09:09:00